top of page

I’m back in the saddle again


Like a good many others I was stung by my last publisher. They billed themselves as an avowedly Christian publishing enterprise, ranked high among the nation’s publishing houses. The pitch sounded professional, so after much consideration I took out a loan in order to purchase a solid package. Now I realize first-hand that trading in futures is a risky business.

The first hint of trouble came when I selected one of two cover designs and the author’s copy came to me with the less-desired cover. Once the book was published the POC suddenly became distant and hard to reach. At no point was I provided any substantial progress report or performance analysis… only more service offers for additional cost.

I sold several hundred copies of the book on my own at book signings and other face-to-face opportunities. After a year on the market I received a royalty check: for 43 cents!

Attempts to reach the company thereafter were totally fruitless. In discussions with other clients I learned that the company had closed their doors, turned off phones and internet and refused attempted attorney contacts.

Then came the notice from the attorney general in the state where the publisher was based, asking me to submit documentation. The top officers of the publishing house were under eight felony charges each, and the state was considering what level of financial restitution to include in the litigation.

The authors were the best off at this point. Owning their copyrights they could simply (well, not simply for those who had “invested” money they truly did not have to spare) re-publish with new covers, copyrights and LIC numbers. My heart went out to the singers and musicians, as they lost their masters and would have to start over.

As for me, I engaged in other outreach activities online and offline while licking my wounds. A spirit of discouragement had descended upon me for a short but unpleasant visit.

Now as the title of this post indicates, I am back in the saddle again, working enthusiastically on three books, publishing article/blog posts, and doing research. It is like a breath of fresh air in the Ozarks Mountains. Can these dry bones live again? You betcha!

Lesson learned? If you must go into debt to publish your work, pray first and wait for peace in your heart before you forge ahead. Should there be any “check” in your spirit, fogeddaboudit! The Lord will show you the best route for you to follow if you will be patient and listen.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page