top of page

Reasons for NOT Going to the Movies


Top Ten Reasons for NOT Going to the Movies

1. The others who go there do not live up to the moral standards of the films shown (hypocrites).

2. Every time I go they ask for money (greedy).

3. The manager never shook my hand at the door or called on me later.

4. The few times I've gone no one spoke to me. Those who go aren't very friendly (imperfect people).

5. I went a lot when I was a child, so I've had all the entertainment I need for life.

6. I don't agree with some of what I hear there.

7. The music is not what I like, and they play it too loudly.

8. The place is too crowded when I want to go, so I can't sit where I want to.

9. The main services are in Sunday mornings and Friday evenings. Sunday morning I want to play golf, and Friday evening is the only time I really have to be with my family ("better" uses for my time).

10. The performances last too long. I can't stand sitting still for two hours (of course, if it's a ball game that's another story!).

So, what is the silly reason you've been giving for not going regularly to church services? Might it perhaps be time to look into the mirror and do a little soul-searching?

When I was a boy I had a "drug" problem: every time the doors were open I was "drug" to services. When I reached the age where I could decide for myself I backed away. That was about the time my life took a serious nose-dive.

Now I am back where I belong, and overjoyed about it! Jesus is a part of my life -- a part of me. It is a package deal: where I go, He's there as well. People I encounter can take both of us or neither of us.

I've heard it said: "I can be just as good a Christian on the golf course (or shopping mall, or wherever) as in church (or studying the Bible, or praying, or praising the Lord, or worshiping Him)." My answer? It is entirely possible that you CAN be -- but you WON'T.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page