top of page

Choices for Today


A new day dawns

The present-- a gift from You

What becomes of it

Is largely up to me.

Opportunities and challenges--

Choices for me to make

Do this, or do that

Go this way, or go there.

Every choice bears a consequence--

The seeds lie just inside.

I plant them in my garden; they grow.

I harvest the fruit

In multiples of their kind.

Will I get back love, caring,

Generosity and kindness--

Or anger, bitterness

Resentment and greed?

It is largely up to me.

Do I go it alone--

Go forth on my own steam?

Should I strike out on my own

Like a wayward little lamb?

There are wolves out there

Who will tear me limb from limb.

Or do I give it all to You

Who know the end from the start?

You know which fork in the road--

The best path for me to take

You will guide and protect me:

I will never be alone.

When I think I cannot make it,

You will carry me through.

No, I am no longer a fool,

So I am trusting in You.

~~ copyright 2015 John N. Jeffries

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page